Back to top

Board of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners is responsible to the Minister for Forestry and is the governing body of the Forest Products Commission.

In accordance with the Forest Products Act 2000, the role of the Commission is to determine strategic direction, monitor performance and control the agency’s business affairs. Current members of the Board are:

Mr Ross Holt | Chairman

FPC Commissioners - Ross Holt
Chairman from 16 November 2015. Term expires 15 November 2018.

Ross Holt has an honours degree in economics and spent 18 years in the Western Australian State Treasury department including four years as Assistant Under Treasurer.

In 1993, he was appointed Chief Executive Officer of the WA Land Authority (LandCorp). During his 20-year tenure, Mr Holt oversaw significant growth in the land and infrastructure development agency across all areas of the Western Australian property industry. With annual revenues in the order of AU$400-500 million and a staff of 220, LandCorp had a portfolio of more than 150 projects involving residential, commercial, regional and industrial development.

Board positions currently held by Mr Holt include the deputy chancellor of Murdoch University, non-executive Chair of quantity surveying firm Ralph and Beatty Bosworth and non-executive director of property-infrastructure project management firm NS Projects. In recent times, Mr Holt has also undertaken various consultancy roles.

Mr Ewald (Ed) Valom | Deputy Chairman

FPC Commissioners - Ed Valom
Commissioner from 6 September 2011. Deputy Chairman from 16 November 2012. Reappointed for a further term commencing 1 July 2014 expiring 30 June 2017.

Through a career spanning fifty years, Ed Valom brings extensive timber industry experience to the post of Commissioner. Joining Bunnings in 1961 under a Management Cadet program, Mr Valom’s career began at the grassroots of timber processing. He was later to become responsible for the operations of a number of timber mills in the South West of Western Australia, before taking on the role of managing the Manjimup Production Centre, where he remained for some 12 years.

As Manager of Timber Operations in hardwood and pine sawmills, Mr Valom directed the manufacture of truss, frame and laminated products, as well as the manufacture of furniture. From 2006 to 2009, he managed Plantation Pulpwood Terminals at Albany’s woodchip export facility. Over the past half-century, Mr Valom has acquired first-hand knowledge in the evolution of an industry in transition.

Mr Robert Pearce

FPC Commissioners - Robert Pearce
Commissioner from 16 November 2012. Term expires 15 November 2018.

Robert Pearce commenced his career as a schoolteacher and was elected as a member of the Legislative Assembly in 1977. He held a number of Ministerial portfolios including Environment (Forestry), Education and Transport. He retired from Parliament in 1993.

In 1998, Mr Pearce took on the position of Executive Director, Forest Industries Federation of Western Australia. He resigned from this position in October 2012. Mr Pearce has been particularly active in the forest industry sitting on a range of committees and boards.

Mr Geoffrey Totterdell

FPC Commissioner - Geoff Totterdell
Commissioner from 16 November 2013. Term expires 15 November 2016.

Geoff Totterdell retired from a 20-year partnership with an international accounting firm in December 2006 where he was primarily involved in the administration of insolvent companies and in business consultancy.

Mr Totterdell has had significant government appointments including Chairman of Swan River Trust from 1994 to 2003, Dairy WA Ltd from 2003 to 2006, Rottnest Island Authority from 2007 to 2010 and Chairman of the Peel Development Commission and a member of the Regional Development Council from 2012 to 2014.

Mr Totterdell is an active yachtsman and a life member of the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club in Perth.

Ms Jacqueline Jarvis

FPC Commissioner - Jacqueline Jarvis
​​​​​​Commissioner from 1 July 2014. Term expires 30 June 2017.

Jacqueline Jarvis is an Agribusiness professional with more than 20 years experience in the finance and banking sector before moving into the field of workforce development. Currently, Mrs Jarvis is a consultant with the Chamber of Commerce and Industry Western Australia (CCI), managing an Agrifood Labour and Skills project – advising on strategies for workforce recruitment, retention and planning for the agriculture sector in partnership with the Department of Agriculture and Food and the Agrifood Alliance Western Australia. In 2014 she was named the Western Australian Rural Woman of the Year and was runner-up to the national title.

Mrs Jarvis also sits on the Rural, Remote and Regional Women’s Network Western Australia (RRR Network) Reference Group. She has previously served on the board of the Foundation for Australian Agricultural Women, and as a Ministerial appointment to the Western Australian Planning Commission's South West Region Committee and the Whicher Water Resource Management Committee.

Mr Grant Woodhams

FPC Commissioner - Grant Woodhams
Commissioner from 1 July 2014. Term expires 30 June 2017.

Mr Woodhams’s diverse career spans from politics to rural journalism. Schooled in Albany and Perth, Mr Woodhams has spent most of his working life behind the microphone with the ABC Regional Radio. Previously working for the ABC in Tasmania, South Australia, New South Wales and Victoria, he took the opportunity to return to Western Australia when offered a position in the Mid West region.

Grant Woodhams was the Member for Greenough and Moore from February 2005 to March 2013 and was elected Speaker of the Western Australian Legislative Assembly in November 2008. During his first term in the Legislative Assembly, Mr Woodhams's oratory style became renowned within the chamber for his adaptations of poems and songs, particularly in his budget reply speeches. He retired from politics in 2013.

Mr Woodhams has taught radio and television journalism at several universities in Perth and adult literacy at the Durack Institute in Geraldton. His interests include motor racing, football and Australian country towns.

Ms Amelia Yam

Commissioner from 1 June 2016. Term expires 31 May 2019.

Ms Yam has held senior management positions in finance, business advisory and consulting whilst working with Price Waterhouse Chartered Accountants, government trading entities and other industries. Her expertise covers strategic planning, project management, business planning, risk management, business process improvement and financial management. Ms Yam was previously Chief Financial Officer of Horizon Power and the University of Notre Dame Australia as well as Director of Amaroo Care Inc.

Ms Yam is currently consulting in financial management and business process improvements.

Ms Yam is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.